The School of Business Administration (SBA) of Southwestern University of Finance and Economics (SWUFE)

The School of Business Administration (SBA) of Southwestern University of Finance and Economics (SWUFE) is among the oldest and largest business schools, with the most competent teaching faculty, in Western China. SBA is primarily committed to education in management and research innovations, based on the following principles: 1) integrate managerial wisdom from both China and abroad, and incorporate world-class teaching resources; 2) comply with indigenous practice and innovate in the research of management applications; 3) develop socially responsible managerial professionals and build a global business education portal in Western China; 4) provide a service to promote China’s economic development and prosperity. In addition, SBA actively upholds social responsibility and strives to become a first- class business school in China. SBA has a long history, for instance, its educational practice in economic management can trace back to the Faculty of Factory Management, established by Sichuan Finance and Economics College during China’s first colleges and departments adjustment in 1952. In 1997, SBA was founded by merging the Department of Industrial Economy, Department of Trade Economy, and specialty International Trade of Department of International Economy. SBA is proud to be the first to establish doctoral stations in both China’s industrial economy (1987) and enterprise management in Southwestern China (1993). Further, SBA is among the first colleges/schools in China to offer the EMBA program with the approval of the Academic Degree Commission of the State Council (2002). It is also among the first colleges/schools in Southwestern China to offer an MBA program, In addition, SBA is the first in Southwestern China to confer the Doctor of Business Administration (DBA) degree in first-level disciplines with the approval of the Ministry of Education (2003). In the 2017 ranking of first-level disciplines by the Ministry of Education, SBA’s Business Administration discipline was listed as one of the category-A disciplines.

SBA has developed a wide variety of disciplinary courses and a complete talent development system including undergraduate, Master’s and doctoral courses, as well as postdoctoral research stations. At present, SBA offers four undergraduate programs including Business Administration, Marketing, Tourism Management, and Logistics Management In particular, SBA sets up two experimental classes (including the bilingual experiment class in Business Administration and double degree experimental class in Financial Service and Management aiming to develop Guanghua’s innovative talents) and a Sino-French joint schooling project in Marketing (specializing in Financial Service and Marketing). Moreover, SBA has the right 1to confer master’s degrees in nine disciplines (including Enterprise Management, Human Resource Management, Marketing, Logistics Management, Tourism Management, Industrial Economics, Consumer Economies, Circulation Economics, and Big Data Management), as well as doctoral degrees in certain disciplines. SBA consists of four departments, eight research institutes, one research center, and five cross-disciplinary research institutions. SBA has a competent teaching faculty, rated as an excellent national teaching team in Business Administration by the Ministry of Education and is among the most internationally diverse teaching teams in western China. At present, SBA has 99 full-time teachers including 36 professors, 46 associate professors, and 10 lecturers. Among them, nearly 97% hold a Ph.D., and 34 teachers are graduates from reputable overseas colleges or universities such as The Wharton School, University of Cambridge, Carnegie Mellon University, and so on. SBA has one teacher in “the Recruitment Program of Global Experts”. It also has five teachers included in “the Chang Jiang Scholars Program”, one teacher in “the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars”, two teachers in “the National Science Fund for Excellent Young Scholars”, and four teachers in the “Program for New Century Excellent Talents in University”.